Burkina Faso announces new cabinet

President Kaboré says new ministers responsible for implementing his commitments to nation

Dramane Traoré   | 11.01.2021
Burkina Faso announces new cabinet

OUGADOUGOU, Burkina Faso

Burkina Faso's prime minister Christophe Marie Joseph Dabiré, announced the country's 33-person cabinet ministers late Sunday.

Dabiré also appointed seven deputy ministers and one minister reporting directly to the president.

"Prime Minister Christophe Joseph Marie Dabiré has formed his government team responsible for implementing my commitments to the nation, such as the issue of national reconciliation. All my best wishes to each and every member of the new executive," President Roch Marc Christian Kaboré tweeted.

Several former ministers kept their posts, such as the Minister of Defense Cherif Sy, Minister of Security Ousséni Compaoré, and Minister of Foreign Affairs Alpha Barry.

Some new ministers include Victoria Ouédraogo Kibora Minister of Justice, Ousséni Tamboura as Minister of Communication and government spokesperson and Bénéwendé Stanislas Sankara as Minister of Housing and Town Planning.

Reelected with over 57% of the vote in the first round of the Nov. 22 poll, Kaboré, 63, promised to "remain attentive to the concerns of all my compatriots, especially with regard to national reconciliation, peace and security, which are the guarantees of all development action."

Anadolu Agency website contains only a portion of the news stories offered to subscribers in the AA News Broadcasting System (HAS), and in summarized form. Please contact us for subscription options.
Related topics
Bu haberi paylaşın