Middle East

Arab-African alliance announced in Riyadh

Council of 8 countries bordering Red Sea, Gulf of Aden announced with no current idea of military force

Viola Fahmy   | 06.01.2020
Arab-African alliance announced in Riyadh


Saudi Arabia on Monday announced the establishment of the Council of Arab and African States bordering the Red Sea and Gulf of Aden.

Saudi Foreign Minister Faisal bin Farhan Al Saud announced the signing of the charter of the council in a press conference held in the capital Riyadh.

The charter was signed by Saudi Arabia, Sudan, Djibouti, Somalia, Eritrea, Egypt, Yemen, and Jordan.

The Saudi minister denied any idea, at the present time, to create a military force for the new coalition.

"I do not envision the creation of a new force over that establishment," he said.

The minister stated that all countries have defense capabilities and bilateral coordination, and this can develop into collective coordination.

Earlier Monday, the foreign ministers of the eight countries convened in Riyadh to discuss the establishment of the council.

*Writing by Mahmoud Mohamed Barakat, Ramadan İbrahim

Anadolu Agency website contains only a portion of the news stories offered to subscribers in the AA News Broadcasting System (HAS), and in summarized form. Please contact us for subscription options.
Related topics
Bu haberi paylaşın