EU lifts virus travel curbs for Bahrain, UAE

With 2 new additions, people from 16 countries can now make non-essential trips to EU territory

Agnes Szucs   | 08.10.2021
EU lifts virus travel curbs for Bahrain, UAE


The European Union on Friday added Bahrain and the United Arab Emirates (UAE) to its free travel list, granting entry to their citizens regardless of their COVID-19 vaccination status.

With the two new additions, people from Australia, Bahrain, Canada, Chile, Jordan, Kuwait, New Zealand, Qatar, Rwanda, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, South Korea, Taiwan, Ukraine, the UAE, and Uruguay can travel to the EU for non-essential purposes.

The same will apply for China if Beijing grants the same rights to EU citizens, the bloc said.

The travel list applies to the 27 EU states and the four non-EU members of the Schengen zone – Iceland, Lichtenstein, Norway, and Switzerland.

The list is only considered to be a recommendation and EU governments can make exceptions for visitors from other countries or restrict entry for unvaccinated travelers from those on the list.

Anadolu Agency website contains only a portion of the news stories offered to subscribers in the AA News Broadcasting System (HAS), and in summarized form. Please contact us for subscription options.
Related topics
Bu haberi paylaşın