South Africa beat England to win Rugby World Cup

South Africa hit England 32-12 to claim top-tier trophy in rugby

Can Erozden   | 02.11.2019
South Africa beat England to win Rugby World Cup File Photo


South Africa hammered England 32-12 to win the 2019 Rugby World Cup in Japan on Saturday.

Gaining an easy victory over England in Yokohama city, South Africa became the world champions for the third time in their history.

The South African rugby team -- aka Springboks -- previously won world titles in 1995 and 2007.

They waited for 12 years between all their World Cup victories.

With their world title no. 3, South Africa equaled with New Zealand, who bagged the trophy in 1987, 2011, and 2015.

The 2019 runners-up England are still the only European winners in the World Cup history as they became the champions in 2003, their sole world title.

Anadolu Agency website contains only a portion of the news stories offered to subscribers in the AA News Broadcasting System (HAS), and in summarized form. Please contact us for subscription options.
Related topics
Bu haberi paylaşın