Sarajevo football club declared Bosnian league winners

Bosnia and Herzegovina Football Federation concludes 2019-20 season

Can Erozden   | 02.06.2020
Sarajevo football club declared Bosnian league winners



Bosnian football body ended the 2019-20 season's competitions over the coronavirus pandemic, declaring defending champions FK Sarajevo as the premier league winners.

"... The Executive Board of the NS / FS BiH [Bosnia and Herzegovina Football Federation] accepted the proposal of the conclusions of the NS / FS BiH Competition Committee and made a decision not to continue the competitions in the 2019/20 season organized by NS / FS BiH," an association statement read late Monday.

It added that the season's Bosnian Cup competitions will also not be played due to virus concerns.

"Sarajevo Football Club defended the title of champion of Bosnia and Herzegovina!," said the club on their website after winning the Premijer Liga.

Leaders FK Sarajevo clinched the title with 45 points in 22 matches. This is their seventh league title in history.

Their city rivals Zeljeznicar Sarajevo had earned 42 points until March, when the league was suspended.

Celik Zenica and Zvijezda 09, meanwhile, have been relegated to a lower division.

Anadolu Agency website contains only a portion of the news stories offered to subscribers in the AA News Broadcasting System (HAS), and in summarized form. Please contact us for subscription options.
Related topics
Bu haberi paylaşın