No relegations for 2019-20 season in Turkish Super Lig

Turkish Football Federation lifts team relegations for 2019-20 season in top-tier Super Lig, 21 teams to play next season

Suha Gur   | 29.07.2020
No relegations for 2019-20 season in Turkish Super Lig


The Turkish Football Federation (TFF) on Wednesday announced that clubs will not be relegated to a lower league for the 2019-20 season in the top-tier Turkish Super Lig.

TFF chairman Nihat Ozdemir made the announcement, adding that 21 teams will play in the Super Lig next season.

So, BtcTurk Yeni Malatyaspor, Hes Kablo Kayserispor and MKE Ankaragucu will play in the division next season as these three would normally have been relegated to the second-tier TFF First League once the season ended.

Ozdemir said four teams would be relegated at the end of the 2020-21 season from Super Lig, with 20 to compete in the top-tier division's 2021-22 season.

He added that the Super Lig's new foreign player restrictions would also not apply for the 2020-21 season.

The current rules say Super Lig clubs could sign a maximum of 14 foreigners in a season as there are no restrictions for the starting 11.

The new rule indicates that clubs can sign 14 foreign players at most, with eight playing on the pitch at any given time.

Anadolu Agency website contains only a portion of the news stories offered to subscribers in the AA News Broadcasting System (HAS), and in summarized form. Please contact us for subscription options.
Related topics
Bu haberi paylaşın