Football: Turkey to host Andorra in Euro 2020 quals

Turkey national football team in second spot with 9 points in Group H led by France having same points

Can Erozden   | 04.09.2019
Football: Turkey to host Andorra in Euro 2020 quals


Turkey national football team is set to host Andorra in the UEFA Euro 2020 qualifiers on Saturday in Istanbul.

Turkey came second with 9 points in the Group H, which has been led by France having the same points.

France tops this group by goal average.

Underdog Andorra will seek a miracle at the Vodafone Park against Turkey.

Turkey has met Andorra twice in history and won these games.

Previous two matches between these two teams were held in 2013 as they were competing in the same group in the European qualifiers for the 2014 FIFA World Cup.

Turkey scored seven goals against Andorra but didn't concede any goal from this team.

The Vodafone Park is the home of Turkish club Besiktas and located in Istanbul's European side.

Opened in April 2016, the Vodafone Park has 42,000 seats.

Scottish referee Donald Robertson will officiate the Saturday's match in Istanbul.

Robertson will be assisted by Sean Carr and Douglas Potter. Kevin Clancy will be the fourth official for this match.

Emre set to have 100 caps for Turkey

Turkey's captain Emre Belozoglu is set to earn his 100th cap for his country if he plays on Saturday.

Fenerbahce midfielder Emre made debut for Turkey in February 2000 while he was 19 years old.

Turkey squad for the matches against Andorra and Moldova has been announced on Aug. 30.

Turkey will meet Moldova in the away match on Sept. 10 in Chisinau.

Turkey squad for Andorra, Moldova matches:

Goalkeepers: Mert Gunok (Istanbul Basaksehir), Gokhan Akkan (Caykur Rizespor), Sinan Bolat (Royal Antwerp), Ugurcan Cakir (Trabzonspor)

Defenders: Mehmet Zeki Celik (Lille), Nazim Sangare (Antalyaspor), Caglar Soyuncu (Leicester City), Kaan Ayhan (Fortuna Dusseldorf), Merih Demiral (Juventus), Mert Cetin (Roma), Umut Meras (Le Havre)

Midfielders: Emre Kilinc (Demir Grup Sivasspor), Cengiz Under (Roma), Efecan Karaca (Alanyaspor), Abdulkadir Parmak (Trabzonspor), Dorukhan Tokoz, Oguzhan Ozyakup (Besiktas), Emre Belozoglu, Ozan Tufan, Deniz Turuc (Fenerbahce), Irfan Can Kahveci (Istanbul Basaksehir), Okay Yokuslu (Celta Vigo), Yunus Malli (Wolfsburg), Yusuf Yazici (Lille), Hakan Calhanoglu (AC Milan)

Forwards: Cenk Tosun (Everton), Enes Unal (Real Valladolid), Guven Yalcin (Besiktas), Kenan Karaman (Fortuna Dusseldorf).

Anadolu Agency website contains only a portion of the news stories offered to subscribers in the AA News Broadcasting System (HAS), and in summarized form. Please contact us for subscription options.
Related topics
Bu haberi paylaşın