9 European Super League clubs sanctioned over breakaway

European football's governing body approves reintegration measures for 9 clubs involved in Super League

Emre Aşıkçı   | 07.05.2021
9 European Super League clubs sanctioned over breakaway


European football's governing body approved sanctions against nine clubs for joining the breakaway European Super League, UEFA announced on Friday.

"In a spirit of reconciliation, and for the good of European football, nine of the 12 clubs involved in the so-called 'Super League' project submitted to UEFA a 'Club Commitment Declaration' setting out the position of the Clubs, including their commitment to UEFA Club Competitions as well as national club competitions," UEFA said in a statement.

A total of nine European giants including, Arsenal, AC Milan, Chelsea, Club Atletico de Madrid, Inter Milan, Liverpool, Manchester City, Manchester United, and Tottenham Hotspur will face sanctions for their involvement with the loss of 5% of revenue from UEFA organizations for one season, it added.

UEFA noted that each football side would face a fine of €100 million ($121 million) if they attempted to break away again.

Under the Club Commitment Declaration, the sides said they "unreservedly acknowledge and accept" the binding nature of the UEFA statutes and will remain committed to and participate in "any UEFA Club Competitions each season for which that club qualifies on sporting merit," according to the statement.

They will also rejoin the European Club Association and "take all steps within their power with a view to terminate their involvement in the company established to form and operate the Super League and cease any existing related legal actions."

The statement also noted that the clubs, together with other teams, committed to donate a total of €15 million ($18.2 million), to be used for the benefit of children, youth and grassroots football in local communities across Europe including the UK "as a gesture of goodwill."​​​​​​​

Anadolu Agency website contains only a portion of the news stories offered to subscribers in the AA News Broadcasting System (HAS), and in summarized form. Please contact us for subscription options.
Related topics
Bu haberi paylaşın