Politics, World

5 new non-permanent members elected to Security Council

Estonia and St. Vincent and the Grenadines elected alongside Niger, Tunisia and Vietnam

Michael Hernandez   | 07.06.2019
5 new non-permanent members elected to Security Council


The UN General Assembly elected Friday five new non-permanent members to join the ranks of the Security Council, including two nations who had never before served.

Estonia and St. Vincent and the Grenadines, the Caribbean island nation, were reportedly elected alongside Niger, Tunisia, and Vietnam.

Each has been elected to a two-year term beginning Jan. 1, 2020 after acquiring the required two-thirds majority from the General Assembly.

While China, Russia, the U.S., U.K., and France serve as the council's five permanent members who wield veto power, the rest of the 15-member council is elected to staggered two-year terms and is drawn from global regions.

Belgium, Cote d’Ivoire, the Dominican Republic, Equatorial Guinea, Germany, Indonesia, Kuwait, Peru, Poland, and South Africa currently comprise the 10 non-permanent member states.

Anadolu Agency website contains only a portion of the news stories offered to subscribers in the AA News Broadcasting System (HAS), and in summarized form. Please contact us for subscription options.
Related topics
Bu haberi paylaşın