Politics, Europe

EU regrets US move to end waivers on Iran oil imports

US announced it would end sanctions waivers on 8 countries importing oil from Iran, including Turkey

Ata Ufuk Seker   | 23.04.2019
EU regrets US move to end waivers on Iran oil imports


The European Union on Tuesday regretted the U.S. move to end sanctions waivers on Iran oil imports.

Speaking at a media briefing, Maja Kocijancic, the EU Foreign Affairs and Security Policy spokeswoman said, the EU will continue to implement the nuclear agreement.

Last November, U.S. President Donald Trump’s administration re-imposed sanctions on Iranian oil exports after Washington pulled out of the 2015 Iran nuclear deal including five other countries.

The administration then announced it would give 180-day waivers, called Significant Reduction Exceptions (SREs), to eight countries -- Turkey, China, Greece, India, Italy, Japan, South Korea and Taiwan -- to help them wean off their supply of Iranian oil.

On Monday, U.S. Secretary of State Mike Pompeo said the SRE waivers would end on May 2, a year after Trump unilaterally left the nuclear deal. 

* Writing by Busra Nur Bilgic

Anadolu Agency website contains only a portion of the news stories offered to subscribers in the AA News Broadcasting System (HAS), and in summarized form. Please contact us for subscription options.
Related topics
Bu haberi paylaşın