'5 states to withdraw recognition if Kosovo makes move'

Serbia will respond in serious, responsible way if Kosovo violates Washington agreement, says Serbian president

Talha Ozturk   | 18.02.2021
'5 states to withdraw recognition if Kosovo makes move' File Photo - Acting President of Kosovo Vjosa Osmani-Sadriu attends a ceremony to mark the 13th anniversary of the declaration of independence of Kosovo at Adem Jashari military post in Pristina, Kosovo on February 17, 2021. Photo: Erkin Keçi - Anadolu Agency


Serbia has firm guarantees that five countries are ready to withdraw the recognition of Kosovo's independence, if Pristina makes a move, according to Serbian media.

Serbian and Kosovar leaders on Sept. 4, 2020, signed an agreement on the "normalization of economic relations" at the White House with the participation of then-US President Donald Trump.

With the agreement, Kosovo suspended its efforts to become a member of international organizations for a year, while Serbia agreed to stop lobbying activities against Kosovo's recognition of independence and its membership in international organizations.

Serbian President Aleksandar Vucic said he has information that Albanians want Kosovo to join the Conference of European Constitutional Courts, adding that if that happens, Serbia will be forced to respond.

"If they want that, it means that they do not respect the Washington Agreement. If it turns out to be true by the end of February and the beginning of March, then that means they no longer respect any norm of the Washington Agreement.

"No problem, but we will be forced to respond to it the way a serious and responsible state does. And they won't like the answer at all. I do not believe that they will be happy with the new withdrawals of recognition, and I can now tell them that there will be," Vucic said.

If Pristina violates the agreement, according to which it should refrain from applying for admission to international organizations, Belgrade will ask five countries to activate the process of withdrawing recognition, Serbian media reported, citing sources in the Serbian government.

The former Serbian province of Kosovo declared independence on Feb. 17, 2008, and is recognized by more than 100 countries, including the US, the UK, France, Germany, and Turkey.

Belgrade continues to see Kosovo as its own territory.

Serbia, Russia, and China are among the countries which have yet to recognize Kosovo’s independence.

Anadolu Agency website contains only a portion of the news stories offered to subscribers in the AA News Broadcasting System (HAS), and in summarized form. Please contact us for subscription options.
Related topics
Bu haberi paylaşın