Politics, Asia - Pacific

Australia's ruling coalition clinches election victory

Prime Minister Scott Morrison declares 'miracle' victory in the country's federal elections

Recep Sakar   | 18.05.2019
Australia's ruling coalition clinches election victory People cast their votes at a polling station during general elections in Melbourne, Australia on May 18, 2019. ( Recep Şakar - Anadolu Agency )


Australian Prime Minister Scott Morrison declared his ruling coalition's victory following the general elections on Saturday.

As the counting is still ongoing, the unofficial results show that Morrison's conservative Liberal Party-led coalition -- which had been in power for 6 years -- received 41.6% of the votes so far.

The Liberal-National party coalition won 74 deputies in the 150-seat House of Representatives while the main opposition Labor Party secured to move 66 of their deputies to the parliament by receiving 33.4% of the votes.

In the election, the Green Party won 1 deputy with 10.3 percent of the vote, and the independent candidates won 5 seats.

“I have always believed in miracles,” Morrison said in his victory speech.

“Tonight is about every single Australian who depends on their government to put them first. And that is exactly what we are going to do,” Morrison said.

Labor Party leader Bill Shorten accepted the election results and announced his resignation from the party post.

Australia’s parliament members are elected for a three-year term, according to the country's election laws as a party or coalition requires 76 seats to form a majority government.

However, the political instability has led the country to change its prime minister for six times in the past 12 years.

*Writing and contribution by Dilara Hamit

Anadolu Agency website contains only a portion of the news stories offered to subscribers in the AA News Broadcasting System (HAS), and in summarized form. Please contact us for subscription options.