Türkİye, anadolu-post

Anadolu Agency awarded 6 prizes at 25th Zoom International News Video Contest

95 works from 5 countries participates in this year’s contest, says head of Turkey's News Cameramen Association

Adil Bedirhan YÜCEL   | 22.08.2021
Anadolu Agency awarded 6 prizes at 25th Zoom International News Video Contest

ANKARA - Anadolu Agency was awarded six prizes on Saturday when Turkey's News Cameramen Association announced the winners of the 25th Zoom International News Video Contest.

Aytekin Polatel, the head of the association, said at a news conference that the association have been organizing the contest for 25 years.

"Journalists have come to the point where they can sacrifice their lives to inform the public, and they have served by putting their lives out. In doing their duties, sometimes they were subjected to reactions, sometimes received praise, but they never disrupted their duty to inform the public, which is their main job,” said Polatel.

He stressed that the images they took caused countries to make decisions about war and peace as the reporters served in the hot spots across the world.

- 95 works from 5 countries

Recalling that they could not organize the competition for the last two years due to the coronavirus pandemic, Polatel said: "This year, 95 works from five countries participated in the competition and the winners were selected by the jury on March 1, 2021."

While the competition has always had five categories, this year, the number was raised to nine to include "Drone Video News," "Freelance Drone Video News," "News Series," and "Honorable Mention," he added.

Hisham Abu Shaqra of Anadolu Agency was awarded in the "News Image of the Year" category, Bestami Bodruk in "Special News," Yasin Dikme in "Sports News," Vural Elibol in "News Series,” Ozkan Bilgin in "Drone Free News," while Ozgur Tiran and Ufuk Ertop received a Special Award of the Seker-Is Trade Union.

- Special awards go to Azerbaijan

Special awards will be given to Azerbaijan state television correspondent Anar Shushali, cameramen Ilkin Mehtiyev and Dashgin Abdulayev on behalf of Azerbaijan State News Agency correspondent Meherrem Ibrahimov and Azerbaijan state television cameraman Sirac Abishov, who died from a landmine laid by Armenian forces while serving in Azerbaijan’s Kalbajar region.

The Special Jury Award was won by acclaimed Turkish Police Radio.

Turker Bektas and Guler Demir were given the Loyalty Award in the Profession.

* Writing by Merve Berker.

Anadolu Agency website contains only a portion of the news stories offered to subscribers in the AA News Broadcasting System (HAS), and in summarized form. Please contact us for subscription options.