World, Africa

Burundi to transfer FETO schools to Turkey’s Maarif

Burundi government cancels permit of all FETO-linked institutions

Felix Nkambeh Tih  | 25.05.2017 - Update : 26.05.2017
Burundi to transfer FETO schools to Turkey’s Maarif Maarif Foundation's Deputy Chairman Dr. Hasan Yavuz (R), Turkey's Kampala envoy Ayse Sedef Yavuzalp (L), Burundi's President Pierre Nkurunziza (C)


Burundi government has annulled permits of all the Fetullah Terrorist Organization-linked (FETO) institutions, the group blamed by Ankara of being behind last July’s coup attempt.

The institutions include, language schools, trade associations, charities and educational institutions, Deputy Chairman of Turkey’s Maarif Foundation Hasan Yavuz told Anadolu Agency late Wednesday.

He said the FETO establishments in Burundi will be transferred to Turkey’s Maarif Foundation.

Yavuz said Burundi President Pierre Nkurunziza also wants to take bilateral relations between Turkey and Burundi to the highest level.

“President Nkurunziza has made a special request that Turkish Airlines initiates direct flights to the country,” he added.

The Maarif Foundation was established after the coup attempt to take over the administration of overseas FETO-linked schools.

According to the Turkish government, FETO and its U.S.-based leader Fetullah Gulen orchestrated the defeated coup of July 2016, which left 250 people martyred and nearly 2,200 injured.

Ankara has said FETO is behind a long-running campaign to overthrow the state through the infiltration of Turkish institutions, particularly the military, police and judiciary.

Yavuz, who also visited Uganda, said that they have provided legal documents about the terrorist organization to Uganda.

“We had a second meeting and technical talks in Uganda,” he said, adding they also handed forensic documents describing FETO crimes to Ugandan authorities.

“Now we expect them to review the documents and respond,” he said.

The Maarif Foundation has signed 16 agreements with African countries -- including Senegal, Mauritania, Chad, Gabon, Burkina Faso, Central African Republic, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Congo Republic, Somalia, Guinea, Nigeria, Sudan and Madagascar.

In addition, agreements have also been signed with Djibouti and Sao Tome to open Maarif Schools.

Anadolu Agency website contains only a portion of the news stories offered to subscribers in the AA News Broadcasting System (HAS), and in summarized form. Please contact us for subscription options.
Related topics
Bu haberi paylaşın