Middle East, Europe

EU adds 7 Syrian ministers to sanction list

Sanctions include asset freeze, travel ban

Rabia İclal Turan   | 16.10.2020
EU adds 7 Syrian ministers to sanction list


The European Union on Friday decided to impose sanctions on seven newly appointed ministers in Syria over violent repression against the civilian population.

The sanctions include a travel ban and an asset freeze against the ministers.

With seven more ministers, the number of people who are subjected to EU’s sanctions increased to 280. 70 entities are also on the bloc’s list.

The EU first introduced the sanctions against the Syrian regime in 2011, which also includes a ban on the import of oil in addition to asset freeze and travel ban.

Syria has been ravaged by a multifaceted civil war since early 2011 when the Bashar al-Assad regime cracked down on pro-democracy protesters.

Hundreds of thousands of people have been killed and more than 10 million displaced, according to UN estimates.

Anadolu Agency website contains only a portion of the news stories offered to subscribers in the AA News Broadcasting System (HAS), and in summarized form. Please contact us for subscription options.
Related topics
Bu haberi paylaşın