Valtteri Bottas to start from pole position in Turkish Grand Prix

Lewis Hamilton ends qualifying session in 1st-place but he will start in P11 due to engine penalty

Emre Asikci   | 09.10.2021
Valtteri Bottas to start from pole position in Turkish Grand Prix Valtteri Bottas (77) of Mercedes drives during the practice session ahead of the F1 Grand Prix of Turkey at Intercity Istanbul Park on October 09, 2021 in Istanbul, Turkey. The Formula One Grand Prix of Turkey will take place on October 10, 2021 at Intercity Istanbul Park. ( Serhat Cagdas - Anadolu Agency )


Mercedes' Finnish driver Valtteri Bottas will start from the pole position in the Turkish Grand Prix on Sunday.

With over 58 laps, the Turkish Grand Prix was held on Saturday at Intercity Istanbul Park on a 5.3-kilometer (3.3 miles) track.

Lewis Hamilton, who delivered the fastest lap ever seen at Istanbul Park, finished first in qualifying with a time of 1:22.868 but will start in P11 due to an engine penalty in Istanbul.

Bottas trailed 0.13 seconds behind Hamilton, whereas Max Verstappen came third, 0.328 seconds behind the British driver.

"Yeah, it was a good quali. Not easy conditions, especially Q1 it was bit on the edge with the damp parts," Bottas said in an interview after the qualifying session.

"Lewis with his penalty, that's the minimum penalty he can have, I'm on pole, so that should be good," he added.

Raikkonen, Vettel eliminated in qualifying sessions

A total of 10 drivers were eliminated from qualifying sessions one and two in the Turkish GP.

Daniel Ricciardo, Nicholas Latifi, Antonio Giovinazzi, Kimi Raikkonen, and Nikita Mazepin were out in the Stage 1 qualifying, while Sebastian Vettel, Esteban Ocon, George Russell, Mick Schumacher, and Carlos Sainz were eliminated during the second qualifying session.

The 16th race of this season will take place 3.00 p.m. local time (1200 GMT) at the Intercity Istanbul Park circuit on Sunday.

Qualifying results:

1Lewis HamiltonMercedes1.24.5851.23.0821.22.868
2Valtteri BottasMercedes1.25.0471.23.5791.22.998
3Max VerstappenRed Bull1.24.5921.23.7321.23.196
4Charles LeclercFerrari1.24.8691.24.0151.23.265
5Pierre GaslyAlphaTauri1.24.7041.23.8171.23.326
6Fernando AlonsoAlpine1.25.1741.23.9141.23.477
7Sergio PerezRed Bull1.24.9631.23.9611.23.706
8Lando NorrisMcLaren1.25.1381.24.6421.23.954
9Lance StrollAston Martin1.25.5111.24.6011.24.305
10Yuki TsunodaAlphaTauri1.25.4091.24.0541.24.368
11Sebastian VettelAston Martin1.25.7871.24.795
12Esteban OconAlpine1.25.4221.24.842
13George RussellWilliams1.25.4171.25.007
14Mick SchumacherHaas1.25.5551.25.200
15Carlos SainzFerrari1.25.177
16Daniel RicciardoMcLaren1.25.881
17Nicholas LatifiWilliams1.26.086
18Antonio GiovinazziAlfa Romeo1.26.430
19Kimi RaikkonenAlfa Romeo1.27.525
20Nikita MazepinHaas1.28.449

Anadolu Agency website contains only a portion of the news stories offered to subscribers in the AA News Broadcasting System (HAS), and in summarized form. Please contact us for subscription options.
Related topics
Bu haberi paylaşın