Turkey, Sports

Ott Tanak wins WRC Rally Turkey

10th round of World Rally Championship (WRC) concluded in southwestern Turkey on Sunday as Tanak claims third win in a row

Ott Tanak wins WRC Rally Turkey Estonian Ott Tanak (C) and co-pilot Martin Jarveoja of Toyota Gazoo Racing team pose for a photo after receiving the trophy from Turkish President Recep Tayyip Erdogan (R) during the final day of the 10th round of the World Rally Championship (WRC) in Turkey's Mediterranean resort town of Marmaris, Mugla on September 16, 2018. ( Gökhan Balcı - Anadolu Agency )

MUGLA, Turkey

Estonian pilot Ott Tanak has won the 10th Round of World Rally Championship on Sunday afternoon in Turkey’s touristic Marmaris district of southwestern Mugla province.

Tanak finished the 4th day of the 10th round 22.3 seconds ahead of Finland’s Jari-Matti Latvala and claimed his third rally win in a row.

10th round of the World Rally Championship (WRC) began in southwestern Turkey on Thursday as WRC Championship leader Thierry Neuville was the fastest at first stage.

Tournament leader Thierry Neuville won the final live TV Power Stage to claim five bonus points. Reigning champion Sebastien Ogier took four points for second with Tanak scoring three in third.

The WRC Turkey was held between Sept. 13-16 in the Mediterranean resort town of Marmaris and hosted 68 cars from 22 countries to race 875 km in 17 stages in 4 categories.

Turkish Automobile Sports Federation (TOSFED) announced that it will host the winner aboard a luxury motor yacht for a week to explore the Turkish Riviera.

Turkey's President Recep Tayyip Erdogan attended the award ceremony after the race and presented the cup to Ott Tanak.

In a brief speech, Erdogan said Marmaris hosted a very competitive race, adding that Turkey will host the event next year too.

Here are the finishing times of top 5 drivers in WRC Turkey:

1. Ott Tanak:

2. Jari-Matti Latvala:

3. Hayden Paddon :

4. Teemu Suninen:

5. Andreas Mikkelsen:

Here are the latest standings in Drivers' Championship:

1. Thierry Neuville: 177 pts

2. Ott Tanak: 164 pts

3. Sebastien Ogier: 154 pts

4. Esapekka Lappi: 88 pts

5. Jari-Matti Latvala: 75 pts

Here are the latest standings in Manufacturer's Championship:

1. Toyota Gazoo Racing WRT: 284 pts

2. Hyundai Shell Mobis WRT: 279 pts

3. M-Sport Ford World Rally Team: 244 pts

4. Citroen Total Abu Dhabi WRT: 169 pts

Reporting by Durmus Genc and Sabri Esen; Writing by Satuk Bugra Kutlugun

Anadolu Agency website contains only a portion of the news stories offered to subscribers in the AA News Broadcasting System (HAS), and in summarized form. Please contact us for subscription options.
Related topics
Bu haberi paylaşın