Club Brugge win Belgian league title

Following 3-1 win against Royal Antwerp, Club Brugge win their 18th Belgian Pro League title

Can Erozden   | 15.05.2022
Club Brugge win Belgian league title FILE PHOTO


Club Brugge won the 2022 Belgian Pro League title on Sunday.

Following a 3-1 win over Royal Antwerp, Club Brugge sealed their 18th league title in history and their third in a row.

Anderlecht are the record holders, winning the Belgian league a total of 34 times, with the last in 2017.

Club Brugge came back from a 1-0 deficit to take the 3-1 win at Antwerp.

Antwerp forward Michael Frey scored the opener in the 19th minute.

Brugge leveled 30 minutes later as Belgian midfielder Hans Vanaken scored a penalty spot.

Jack Hendry made it 2-1 for the visitors in minute 64 and Sargis Adamyan cemented the victory by scoring the third goal for his team two minutes later.

Club Brugge won four matches and took a draw in five playoff matches to bag enough points.

Alfred Schreuder's men became the Belgian champions in the 2021-22 season with a match to spare.

Club Brugge also qualified for the UEFA Champions League group stage next season.

Anadolu Agency website contains only a portion of the news stories offered to subscribers in the AA News Broadcasting System (HAS), and in summarized form. Please contact us for subscription options.
Related topics
Bu haberi paylaşın