World, Europe

UK won’t extend Brexit transition period: Minister

Cabinet Office Minister Michael Gove confirms government’s decision to EU

Rabia İclal Turan   | 12.06.2020
UK won’t extend Brexit transition period: Minister


The UK on Friday confirmed to the EU that it will not extend the Brexit transition period.

Michael Gove, minister for the Cabinet Office, wrote on Twitter that he chaired a “constructive” EU Joint Committee meeting with European Commission Vice President Maros Sefcovic.

“I formally confirmed the UK will not extend the transition period & the moment for extension has now passed. On 1 January 2021 we will take back control and regain our political & economic independence,” he wrote.

This came after Scottish and Welsh first ministers sent a joint letter to Prime Minister Boris Johnson, requesting an extension to complete negotiations and support businesses recovering from the pandemic.

“We are mindful that the withdrawal agreement only permits an extension of the transition period if this has been agreed before the end of June.

"At the time the withdrawal agreement was signed, no-one could have imagined the enormous economic dislocation which the COVID-19 pandemic has caused - in Wales, Scotland, the whole of the UK, in the EU and across the world," they said.

The UK left the EU at the end of January, but remains bound to the bloc for the duration of a transition period that ends on Dec. 31, 2020.

Johnson repeatedly insisted that he will not negotiate a delay with the EU.

Anadolu Agency website contains only a portion of the news stories offered to subscribers in the AA News Broadcasting System (HAS), and in summarized form. Please contact us for subscription options.
Related topics
Bu haberi paylaşın