World, Europe

Kosovo: Avdullah Hoti becomes new prime minister

Kosovo Assembly elected a new alliance government led by Hoti with support from 61 members in the 120-member parliament

Talha Öztürk  | 03.06.2020 - Update : 03.06.2020
Kosovo: Avdullah Hoti becomes new prime minister Kosovo's new Prime Minister Avdullah Hoti speaks to the media after receiving the vote of confidence in parliament in Pristine, Kosovo on June 03, 2020. Kosovo Assembly elected a new alliance government led by Hoti with support from 61 members in the 120-member parliament. ( Erkin Keçi - Anadolu Agency )


Kosovo Assembly on Wednesday elected Avdullah Hoti as the new prime minister of the country's sixth government since the declaring independence in 2008.

In an extraordinary session of the Kosovo Assembly, a new coalition government led by Democratic League of Kosovo (LDK) leader Hoti was elected with 61 votes in favor, 24 votes against, and one abstention. The total strength of the House is 120.

With a majority of 61 votes required, the motion of electing the government was passed in a single vote.

Addressing to the Assembly before the vote, Hoti said that his government would protect Kosovo’s territorial integrity and respond to the shock that the economy will suffer in the coming months.

“The new government will have a new program of economic recovery,” said Hoti, adding that a fund will be established to cope with the consequences of the COVID-19 pandemic.

Speaking about the dialogue with Serbia, Hoti said that the government will undertake its constitutional responsibilities to lead negotiations and would not allow any changes in borders or a land swap.

The new government will have 16 ministries, with seven of them nominated by LDK, four by Alliance for the Future of Kosovo (AAK), two by Social Democratic Initiative (NISMA), two by Serb List, and one by the Turkish Democratic Party of Kosovo.

There will also be four deputy prime ministers, each representing the coalition partners LDK, AAK, NISMA, and Serb List.

Kosovo's coalition government led by Prime Minister Albin Kurti collapsed in late March after less than two months in power as it lost a vote of confidence in parliament.

Kosovo declared independence from Serbia in 2008 but Belgrade insists the country is one of its provinces.

The international community has also remained divided on the recognition of Kosovo as a sovereign state.

Over 100 countries, including the US, Britain, France, Germany, and Turkey, have recognized Kosovo’s independence, While Serbia, Russia, and China have not yet recognized Kosovo.

Anadolu Agency website contains only a portion of the news stories offered to subscribers in the AA News Broadcasting System (HAS), and in summarized form. Please contact us for subscription options.
Related topics
Bu haberi paylaşın