Turkey, Culture

Winners of presidential awards 2018 announced

Late Mehmet Akif Ersoy, writer of Turkish national anthem, will receive Loyalty Award

Handan Kazancı   | 10.12.2018
Winners of presidential awards 2018 announced

By Ilkay Guder


Turkey’s 2018 Presidential Culture and Arts Grand Awards were announced on Monday.

In a statement, the presidential press office said President Recep Tayyip Erdogan chaired the Council of Culture and Arts Policies session.

The council awarded Mehmet Ipsirli, a veteran Turkish historian, in the history and social sciences field.

The council named Turker Inanoglu, a film producer, director and screenplay writer, as the winner in the field of cinema.

Erol Sayan, a composer, is set to receive an award for his music.

Izzet Keribar, a veteran photographer, was also awarded.

Late Mehmet Akif Ersoy, who is known as the “national poet” of Turkey and the author of the Turkish national anthem, was named the winner of the Loyalty award.

The presidential culture and arts awards are annual prizes that have been awarded by Turkish presidents since 1995.

This year’s Presidential Culture and Grand Awards ceremony will be held on Dec. 19, the statement added.

Anadolu Agency website contains only a portion of the news stories offered to subscribers in the AA News Broadcasting System (HAS), and in summarized form. Please contact us for subscription options.
Related topics
Bu haberi paylaşın