Senegal bans EU nationals after being blacklisted

Action comes after Dakar not included on EU’s list of states deemed ‘safe’ for coronavirus

04.07.2020 - Update : 04.07.2020
Senegal bans EU nationals after being blacklisted DAKAR, SENEGAL - JANUARY 28: Turkish President Recep Tayyip Erdogan (R) and Senegalese President Macky Sall (L) inspect the honour guards as Sall welcomes Erdogan during an official ceremony in Dakar, Senegal on January, 28, 2020. ( Erçin Top - Anadolu Agency )


Senegal announced Friday it will not re-open its airspace to EU travelers after the bloc did not include it on a list of “safe” states due to the coronavirus, according media reports. 

The EU issued a list Tuesday of 15 nations considered safe Tuesday, taking into account “epidemiological criteria,” including Africa nations with a high number of confirmed COVID-19 cases and deaths, such as Algeria and Morocco, the Africa News website reported Friday.

The EU'S list included only the African nations of Rwanda, Tunisia, Morocco and Algeria, according to the website.

Dakar declared a ban on travelers from the EU states Wednesday, issued by Minister of Tourism and Air Transport Alioune Sarr without providing further details.

Gabon also issued a similar ban on EU citizens.

Senegal confirmed 7,054 COVID-19 cases with 125 deaths, according to data compiled by US-based John Hopkins University.

Algeria has 14,657 COVID-19 cases with 928 deaths

The number of diagnosed cased in Morocco is 13,215, with 230 fatalities.

Anadolu Agency website contains only a portion of the news stories offered to subscribers in the AA News Broadcasting System (HAS), and in summarized form. Please contact us for subscription options.
Related topics
Bu haberi paylaşın