Africa, Europe

EU puts sanctions on 9 Congo government officials

Current and former interior ministers, Kasai governor, national intelligence head all accused of human rights violations

Ekip   | 29.05.2017
EU puts sanctions on 9 Congo government officials

Congo, The Democratic Republic of the

By Godfrey Olukya

ARU, Democratic Republic of Congo 

The European Union Monday adopted sanctions against another nine senior government officials in the Democratic Republic of Congo over alleged crimes against humanity.

According to a UN statement, the UN Council took restrictive measures against nine individuals who hold positions of responsibility in the state administration and in the security forces’ chain of command.

They join seven people the EU put sanctions on last December in response to the obstruction of the electoral process and related human rights violations.

''Today's decision concerns the former and current ministers for the interior, the governor of Central Kasai, the former governor of Haut-Katanga, two senior officers, a militia leader, and the director of the National Intelligence Service, listed for having contributed to acts constituting serious human rights violations in the DRC, by planning, directing or committing them,” said the statement.

Among the blacklisted names are police chief Ramanzani Shadari, intelligence head Kaley Mutondo, Security Minister Evariste Boshab, and government spokesman Lambert Mende,

The blacklisted people reportedly played roles in the violation of human rights especially during riots against incumbent President Joseph Kabila’s overstaying power after his term of office expired.

Anadolu Agency website contains only a portion of the news stories offered to subscribers in the AA News Broadcasting System (HAS), and in summarized form. Please contact us for subscription options.
Related topics
Bu haberi paylaşın