Politics, Africa

Ethiopian parliament approves Abiy’s 22-member Cabinet

3 from opposition parties also included in Cabinet

Addis Getachew   | 06.10.2021
Ethiopian parliament approves Abiy’s 22-member Cabinet


Ethiopia’s lower house of parliament on Wednesday approved the new Cabinet of Prime Minister Abiy Ahmed.

The 22-member Cabinet was endorsed by 342 lawmakers, while one voted against it and 12 abstained. Six of the ministers are females.

The Cabinet also included three people from the opposition representing the Ethiopian Citizens for Social Justice (EZEMA), Oromo Liberation Front and Amhara National Movement.

The Education Ministry has been given to EZEMA’s founder and leader Berhanu Nega.

Demeke Mekonnen has been retained as deputy prime minister and foreign minister, and Ahmed Shide as finance minister.

Abreham Belay has been named defense minister. He was the minister of technology and innovation in the previous Cabinet.

The ministers were sworn in by the president of the Supreme Court.

Speaking on the occasion, Abiy urged the members of parliament to serve as strong oversight body to put the performances of the executive in check.

The country’s House of People’s Representatives began its sixth tenure for a five-year term on Monday.

Anadolu Agency website contains only a portion of the news stories offered to subscribers in the AA News Broadcasting System (HAS), and in summarized form. Please contact us for subscription options.
Related topics
Bu haberi paylaşın