Turkey, Sports

Cycling: Third stage of Tour of Turkey begins

Third stage from Canakkale to Edremit starts on 122.6 km route

Fatih Erel   | 18.04.2019
Cycling: Third stage of Tour of Turkey begins


The third stage of the 55th Presidential Cycling Tour of Turkey started in Canakkale on Thursday.

The third stage started in Canakkale and will end in Edremit on a 122.6-kilometer (76-mile) route.

The tour kicked off in Istanbul on Tuesday as a part of the “UCI World Tour” calendar for the third time.

Bora-Hansgrohe's Sam Bennett won the first two stages.

In the world's only cycling tour connecting the continents, cyclists will also ride at the final stage in the Eurasia tunnel connecting Asia to Europe beneath the Bosphorus Strait.

The Tour of Turkey will last through April 21 with 119 cyclists from 17 teams on six stages.

Four World Tour teams are among 17 teams which will cycle in about 1,000 km-long (621 miles) during six days.

The race is broadcast in 185 countries.

Organized by the Turkish Cycling Federation, the Presidential Cycling Tour of Turkey debuted in 1963 and became an international race two years later.

Started in 1963 as "Tour of Marmara", this year's tour follows a similar "Nostalgic" route to its first edition.

As one of Turkey's most prestigious worldwide sporting events, the 55th edition of the Presidential Cycling Tour of Turkey made a new start this year with its new slot in April on “UCI World Tour” calendar.

In recent years, most of the stages in the tour were used to be organized along the Mediterranean and Aegean coasts. This year, the race moved to different parts of the country in order to promote historical and natural richness of these regions through cycling as the organization has been held in the Marmara region this time.

Teams departed from Istanbul and head to Tekirdag, Eceabat, Canakkale, Edremit, Balikesir, Bursa, Sakarya and will see the ultimate finish again in Istanbul.

Stages of the 2019 tour:

April 16: Istanbul-Tekirdag (156.7 km)

April 17: Tekirdag-Eceabat (183.3 km)

April 18: Canakkale-Edremit (122.6 km)

April 19: Balikesir-Bursa (194.3 km)

April 20: Bursa-Kartepe (164.1 km)

April 21: Sakarya-Istanbul (172.4 km)

Anadolu Agency website contains only a portion of the news stories offered to subscribers in the AA News Broadcasting System (HAS), and in summarized form. Please contact us for subscription options.
Related topics
Bu haberi paylaşın